You are here: Home / NEWS / Board of the IEA has three new members

Board of the IEA has three new members

by Richard Meckien - published Sep 15, 2017 03:25 PM - - last modified Jun 04, 2019 10:55 AM
Rights: Original version in Portuguese by Vinicius Sayão.

The IEA's Board will have three new members as of this month. Two of them have been appointed by USP's President Marco Antonio Zago, while the student representative has been chosen by the student members of the University Council of USP.

Director of USP's Polytechnic School (POLI), José Roberto Piqueira will fill the place left by Professor Beatriz Barbuy, from USP's Institute of Astronomy, Geophysics and Atmospheric Sciences (IAG), who was a member of the Board since July 2015. Piqueira holds a degree in Electrical Engineering from USP's School of Engineering (EESC) at the São Carlos campus (1974), where he also obtained a master's degree (1983). His PhD was obtained from POLI, where he also became a full professor of Control and Automation, besides being the current director.

Denise Alves Fungaro, graduated in Chemistry (1983) from the University of São Paulo, will become the Board's representative of civil society. Fungaro holds a master's degree (1987) and a PhD (1993), both in Chemistry and from USP. She completed postdoctoral studies (1998) at the University of Coimbra, Portugal, in the area of electrochemistry applied to the environment. She is currently a researcher at the Nuclear and Energy Research Institute (IPEN-CNEN / SP). She will fill the place left by Ricardo Ohtake, who was a member between 2015 and 2016, and is the current head of the Olavo Setubal Chair in Arts, Culture and Science.

Without a student representative since Tomás Costa de Azevedo Marques, the Board will now have Ladislau Pereira Sanders Filho occupying this position. Sanders is currently a master's degree student in Human Geography at USP and develops research in agrarian geography, territorial disputes and social movements, as well as reproduction of the peasantry class and agriculture under the development of the capitalist mode of production.

The terms of Fungaro and Sanders will be of one year, for being representatives of the civil society and the students, respectively. Piqueira will take position for two years.